Cum Laude Society Inducts New Members

Hutchison’s Emily Smith Britton Chapter of the Cum Laude Society inducted 13 new members this spring.
Founded in 1906 on the model of Phi Beta Kappa, the Cum Laude Society honors the academic achievement of high school scholars. Hutchison’s Chapter of Cum Laude was installed in 1958 in honor of Emily Smith Britton ’55. 

As guest speaker of the ceremony and this year’s distinguished alumna honoree, Dr. Lisa D. Stanford '78 delivered the Cum Laude address to the girls. She is a board-certified pediatric neuropsychologist and and serves as Director of Neurobehavioral Health at Akron Children's Hospital where she oversees the research of neurodevelopmental disorders of the brain in infants, children, and young adults. She is also a founding member of the Hutchison National Alumnae Board (NAB) and continues to invest in the next generation of Hutchison alumnae by offering her time and talents both during the annual NAB visit and beyond. In her address to the girls during today's ceremony, she talked about the importance of kindness, working on and developing your mind and spirit just as much as you do your body, supporting yourself by strengthening the habits of your heart, and how to react and cope with the inevitable changes we all face in life.

2018 Cum Laude Society Inductees
• Bowie Frazer Campbell
• Jordan McKenzie Groover
• Alexandria Elizabeth Krasin    
• Meredith MacFarland Magness
• Olivia Leigh Posey
• Mary Blair Threlkeld
• Sarah Elizabeth Bland
• Sara Louise Crow
• Anne Stewart Grinder
• Michelle Enuji Lee
• Mary Katherine McBride
• Charlotte Claire Merchant         
• Olivia Carson Weatherly

Read More

Hutchison is the leading private girls school in Memphis for ages 2 years old through twelfth grade.