Girls Honored for Academic Achievement

Hutchison’s Emily Smith Britton Chapter of the Cum Laude Society inducted 12 new members this spring.
Founded in 1906 on the model of Phi Beta Kappa, the Cum Laude Society honors the academic achievement of high school scholars. Hutchison’s Chapter of Cum Laude was installed in 1958 in honor of Emily Smith Britton ’55.

As guest speaker of the ceremony and this year’s distinguished alumna honoree, Colonel Julie Rim Huygen ’87 delivered the Cum Laude address to the girls. Colonel Huygen is a member of the Cum Laude Society at Hutchison. After Hutchison, she attended Harvard for undergrad and The University of Maryland for law school. In her professional life she is Chief of the Military Justice Division, Air Force Legal Operations Agency at Joint Base Andrews, and has a 19-year career in the Air Force. In her address, she talked to the girls about making sure their appearance helps project what they want it to project – their academic prowess – and to be careful with the kinds of images and communications they present on social media.

2017 Cum Laude Society Inductees
  • Anna Elise Apollonio
  • Caroline Rebecca Jones
  • Caroline Grace Pollard          
  • Caroline Carson Rogers
  • Larkin Erin Schultz
  • Hannah Lindsey Weatherly
  • Monica Elizabeth Fleck
  • Lillian Clare Gillespie
  • Owen Meriwether Hergenrader
  • Macy Collins McCullough
  • Anna Elizabeth Murrey
  • Samantha Catherine Tancredi           
  • Alice Curry Wilson

Read More

Hutchison is the leading private girls school in Memphis for ages 2 years old through twelfth grade.